Skip Navigation LinksHOME → BAMBOO SHOOTS LISTING

BAMBOO SHOOTS
Works of fiction and poetry by friends of Bamboo Ridge Press.

That's the Word: Wali
Published by PONIKAA GIRL | Wednesday, July 23, 2014 2:08 AM
Word Count: 44
69
Published by RALPH TABOR WILLIAMS | Wednesday, July 16, 2014 7:32 PM
Commander, USN Retired. 263 words
Waiting
Published by RBIBEAU1 | Tuesday, July 15, 2014 8:59 AM
Highjack
Published by LANNING | Saturday, July 05, 2014 7:17 PM
Year of the Horse Writing Contest entry for June. 313 words.
June Winners for the BR Year of the Horse Writing Contest
Published by BAMBOO BUCKAROO | Monday, June 30, 2014 9:54 PM
BR Year of the Horse Writing Contest for July : )
Published by BAMBOO BUCKAROO | Monday, June 30, 2014 5:43 PM
Kaka'ako Dreams
Published by APPLEBLOSSUM | Monday, June 30, 2014 11:26 AM
303 words (Flash Fiction started at the Buckaloose Writing Workshop on 6/16/14, then tweaked at home)
What’s in My Name
Published by DONNAB | Monday, June 30, 2014 12:21 AM
Flash Fiction written at Buckaloose Workshop 6/16/14; Wordcount - 171
The Nymph and the Sage, A Retelling
Published by NORMIE SALVADOR | Sunday, June 29, 2014 5:53 AM
Triggers: #2: he never takes his eyes off the; #5: some dreams are just that, dreams; #4: that would have been it for my career; #6. you start thinking about... stuff. Gloss: Apsara: celestial maiden. Devidasi: temple dancer. Sadir: ancient (and lost) dance. Word Count: 258.
An Armful of Warm Girl
Published by RBIBEAU | Saturday, June 28, 2014 2:01 AM
Venison Reprieve
Published by JIM HARSTAD | Monday, June 16, 2014 6:29 PM
This is the middle of a larger piece. 1152 words.
How I Learned To Write My Name
Published by LANNING | Tuesday, June 03, 2014 6:44 PM
Year of the Horse entry for June 2014 -- 591 words
Year of the Horse Writing Contest for June : )
Published by BAMBOO BUCKAROO | Saturday, May 31, 2014 9:26 PM
Birthday Blood
Published by LANNING | Sunday, May 04, 2014 7:25 AM
562 words
April Winner in The Great BR Year of the Horse Writing Contest
Published by BAMBOO BUCKAROO | Saturday, May 03, 2014 1:28 AM
Year of the Horse Writing Contest for May : )
Published by BAMBOO BUCKAROO | Friday, May 02, 2014 6:32 PM
It's the Little Things (125 words)
Published by APPLEBLOSSUM | Wednesday, April 30, 2014 10:23 PM
trigger #7 as if you were holding a river
For My Father
Published by LANNING | Tuesday, April 08, 2014 12:53 AM
April entry for the Year of the Horse contest. 251 words.
Year of the Horse Writing Contest for April : )
Published by BAMBOO BUCKAROO | Friday, February 28, 2014 4:50 PM
Lanai
Published by PIIHONUA | Saturday, March 22, 2014 11:02 AM
You can have aaaall da pineapples you like ... A poem inspired by the news Lanai has a new landlord 245 words - My trigger is: they were the wrong size
On the Day of the Birth
Published by LANNING | Saturday, March 01, 2014 2:00 AM
March entry, Year of the Horse contest. 894 words
The Great BR Year of the Horse Writing Contest
Published by BAMBOO BUCKAROO | Tuesday, February 04, 2014 1:10 AM
January Winners in The Great BR Year of the Snake Writing Contest : )
Published by BAMBOO BUCKAROO | Tuesday, February 04, 2014 12:44 AM
A Gathering of Friends
Published by CHRISKK | Tuesday, January 21, 2014 8:55 PM
He explained that recently two of his best friends had died. He realized that not only had he lost them but he had lost parts of himself, experiences and corresponding memories that could never be shared again. He described the loss of others as pieces of ourselves falling away, never to be retrieved or replaced. As I said, he was eloquent in responding to a pop quiz after much eating and drinking. (774)
The place where your horses run free
Published by CRAYOLAKOALA | Monday, January 27, 2014 9:23 AM
A Chinese New Year Story about a Filipino American family written in haibun. 281 words.
What he wasn't looking for.
Published by BETWEENWATERSUNSEEN | Tuesday, January 07, 2014 11:23 PM
352 words.
Haiku
Published by PIIHONUA | Tuesday, January 07, 2014 7:43 AM
Getting laid off again in 11 words
Digging the Stew People
Published by LANNING | Thursday, January 02, 2014 7:52 PM
January Year of the Snake Writing Contest entry. 1817 words - For DRY -- January brings / Thoughts of new writing contests / Dreams of dying fireworks
January: Final Year of the Snake Writing Contest : )
Published by BAMBOO BUCKAROO | Saturday, December 28, 2013 7:38 PM
Christmastime 2013
Published by JIM HARSTAD | Tuesday, December 31, 2013 3:33 AM
Note to the reader: Herman is not me; nobody here is anybody anywhere. Word count: 1,491
The Great Escape
Published by CARRIE TAKAHATA | Monday, December 16, 2013 5:47 AM
203 Words
The Funeral of Joey the Rooster
Published by LANNING | Sunday, December 01, 2013 7:19 PM
Year of the Snake entry for December. 462 words. Trigger: I don't get it.
Year of the Snake Contest for December : )
Published by BAMBOO BUCKAROO | Saturday, November 30, 2013 10:53 PM
Seven Minutes
Published by KRISTEL | Saturday, November 30, 2013 5:12 PM
There never seems to be enough time. Word count: 688
evermore@hawaii.edu
Published by JIM HARSTAD | Tuesday, November 26, 2013 5:05 AM
The following didn't happen just this way. Does anything? Ever? Word count: 303
The Death of Joey the Rooster
Published by LANNING | Saturday, November 02, 2013 8:43 AM
Year of the Snake entry for November. 486 words.
Year of the Snake Contest for November : )
Published by BAMBOO BUCKAROO | Saturday, November 02, 2013 7:14 AM
In a Fricken Minute
Published by APPLEBLOSSUM | Wednesday, October 30, 2013 3:00 AM
Year of the Snake Contest--October (240 words) Trigger #6 in a minute -- From “Justice Driving,” by Wendy Miyake
The Evocation of Thirteen Moons
Published by NORMIE SALVADOR | Monday, October 28, 2013 11:03 PM
Blurb: BR issue #73, Spring 1998, New Moon prompt: 4. What do you know about love? Word Count: 253
REM Sleep
Published by JIM HARSTAD | Thursday, October 24, 2013 7:03 AM
I live in a mature neighborhood — old people, night sirens: 298 words
Da Bambucha Kabocha Moon - for Bruddah Brit : 63 words
Published by PIIHONUA | Saturday, October 19, 2013 10:02 AM
Can make plenty pumpkin tempura wit dat big bambucha one in da corner...
High School Dances
Published by LANNING | Thursday, October 10, 2013 7:10 PM
Year of the Snake entry for October. 100 words. For RY.
Winner for September : )
Published by BAMBOO BUCKAROO | Thursday, October 03, 2013 5:58 PM
Year of the Snake Contest for October : )
Published by BAMBOO BUCKAROO | Sunday, September 29, 2013 10:03 PM
Scoreless Tie
Published by JIM HARSTAD | Tuesday, September 24, 2013 3:20 AM
My parents took up golf in their mid-fifties and enjoyed it for the rest of their lives. On the theory that too much early pleasure might, like smoking, interfere with my maturation process, I put it off until my early seventies. 427 words.
Lei ho'okupu
Published by HINAEA | Thursday, September 05, 2013 6:42 AM
129 words. Trigger#4 each small piece of me. It is your kuleana to actively seek ways to learn your history, language, and culture. You alone are responsible for your learning. I get that. But on this particular day I discovered kuleana is also about acceptance of yourself.
Smoke
Published by LANNING | Monday, September 02, 2013 6:06 AM
Year of the Snake entry for September. 1000 words. For KM.
Year of the Snake Contest for September : )
Published by BAMBOO BUCKAROO | Monday, September 02, 2013 5:58 AM
August Contest Winner : )
Published by BAMBOO BUCKAROO | Friday, September 06, 2013 8:38 PM
We Will Know
Published by EIJI | Sunday, September 08, 2013 4:39 PM
worry not of love's ins and outs