Skip Navigation LinksHOME → BAMBOO SHOOTS LISTING

BAMBOO SHOOTS
Works of fiction and poetry by friends of Bamboo Ridge Press.

In your dreams I will come...
Published by EIJI | Wednesday, October 22, 2014 4:36 PM
My Halloween cauldron's concoction I wrote few pumpkin seasons back. 302 words
Brushstrokes
Published by DOREEN B. | Friday, October 17, 2014 11:52 PM
A Chinese calligraphy warm-up exercise: 144 Words
The Running Solution
Published by JIM HARSTAD | Friday, October 17, 2014 9:18 PM
This month we fix sexism and the Middle East; next month, Ebola. Amazing, the power of the pen. Run fast, my friends. 255 words
Andrea
Published by LANNING | Thursday, October 02, 2014 5:37 PM
436 words
September winner in the Year of the Horse Writing Contest : )
Published by BAMBOO BUCKAROO | Friday, October 03, 2014 7:43 PM
Grey Fantasy: I Felt Ill--at ease in a suit, really?
Published by PONIKAA GIRL | Tuesday, September 30, 2014 9:34 AM
183 words
Year of the Horse Writing Contest for October : )
Published by BAMBOO BUCKAROO | Tuesday, September 30, 2014 6:10 AM
Boys and Girls
Published by RBIBEAU | Tuesday, September 30, 2014 4:18 AM
Last Names
Published by O. YUNOMI | Sunday, September 28, 2014 6:06 PM
Trigger (and blurb): "but I knew better" (152 words)
Quick, Roll Up Your Windows
Published by MANGOKAMABOKO | Sunday, September 28, 2014 5:41 AM
Frank's just a down-on-his-luck "entrepreneur" desperately trying to identify his target demographic. 293 words
Song for Ferguson
Published by JIM HARSTAD | Tuesday, September 23, 2014 9:42 PM
Year of the Horse Contest. Never explain, never apologize. 55 words.
The Cab Ride With Kaipo
Published by PIIHONUA | Tuesday, September 16, 2014 9:49 AM
The hesitant cab snakes down to the bottom of the road and stops in front of da hamajang rock wall covered with runaway vines. 461 words. Trigger: But I knew better.
My gypsy woman
Published by RBIBEAU | Friday, August 22, 2014 8:04 PM
A Hard-luck Story
Published by DOREEN B. | Friday, September 12, 2014 3:33 AM
"Just throw um away': 155 words
year of the horse writing contest sept entry
Published by EIJI | Monday, September 08, 2014 11:46 PM
haiku my love -- 14 words.
Haiku: Spring to Winter
Published by LANNING | Monday, September 01, 2014 8:52 PM
Year of the Horse Contest for September. 188 words. For MRP.
Year of the Horse Writing Contest for September : )
Published by BAMBOO BUCKAROO | Monday, September 01, 2014 1:12 AM
Poho
Published by DOREEN B. | Sunday, August 31, 2014 5:08 PM
No joke Ma, you stay reusing that too?!:176
I Never Asked Him about the Dark Woman in the Photo
Published by PONIKAA GIRL | Sunday, August 31, 2014 9:22 AM
Word count: 128
Mehara Take Falls
Published by EIJI | Wednesday, August 20, 2014 5:47 PM
A swimming hole from summers past, one of many memoirs I hold dearly in this soon passing summer of my life...
Haiku
Published by LANNING | Saturday, August 02, 2014 11:06 PM
12 words
Year of the Horse Writing Contest for August : )
Published by BAMBOO BUCKAROO | Wednesday, July 30, 2014 5:47 PM
Speaking of Kaka'ako.... 800 words. Trigger: No can blame us for trying!
Published by PIIHONUA | Saturday, July 26, 2014 8:38 AM
 I tink I saw him one night after Mokie wen beat up his wife, kids were screaming, dogs were barking and da whole neighborhood woke up, even Sissie Girl, Tutu's favorite cat. I dunno how anyone can forget dat nite! Was unreal, I mean fo real, was unreal
That's the Word: Wali
Published by PONIKAA GIRL | Wednesday, July 23, 2014 2:08 AM
Word Count: 44
69
Published by RALPH TABOR WILLIAMS | Wednesday, July 16, 2014 7:32 PM
Commander, USN Retired. 263 words
Waiting
Published by RBIBEAU1 | Tuesday, July 15, 2014 8:59 AM
Highjack
Published by LANNING | Saturday, July 05, 2014 7:17 PM
Year of the Horse Writing Contest entry for June. 313 words.
June Winners for the BR Year of the Horse Writing Contest
Published by BAMBOO BUCKAROO | Monday, June 30, 2014 9:54 PM
BR Year of the Horse Writing Contest for July : )
Published by BAMBOO BUCKAROO | Monday, June 30, 2014 5:43 PM
Kaka'ako Dreams
Published by APPLEBLOSSUM | Monday, June 30, 2014 11:26 AM
303 words (Flash Fiction started at the Buckaloose Writing Workshop on 6/16/14, then tweaked at home)
What’s in My Name
Published by DONNAB | Monday, June 30, 2014 12:21 AM
Flash Fiction written at Buckaloose Workshop 6/16/14; Wordcount - 171
The Nymph and the Sage, A Retelling
Published by NORMIE SALVADOR | Sunday, June 29, 2014 5:53 AM
Triggers: #2: he never takes his eyes off the; #5: some dreams are just that, dreams; #4: that would have been it for my career; #6. you start thinking about... stuff. Gloss: Apsara: celestial maiden. Devidasi: temple dancer. Sadir: ancient (and lost) dance. Word Count: 258.
An Armful of Warm Girl
Published by RBIBEAU | Saturday, June 28, 2014 2:01 AM
Venison Reprieve
Published by JIM HARSTAD | Monday, June 16, 2014 6:29 PM
This is the middle of a larger piece. 1152 words.
How I Learned To Write My Name
Published by LANNING | Tuesday, June 03, 2014 6:44 PM
Year of the Horse entry for June 2014 -- 591 words
Year of the Horse Writing Contest for June : )
Published by BAMBOO BUCKAROO | Saturday, May 31, 2014 9:26 PM
Birthday Blood
Published by LANNING | Sunday, May 04, 2014 7:25 AM
562 words
April Winner in The Great BR Year of the Horse Writing Contest
Published by BAMBOO BUCKAROO | Saturday, May 03, 2014 1:28 AM
Year of the Horse Writing Contest for May : )
Published by BAMBOO BUCKAROO | Friday, May 02, 2014 6:32 PM
It's the Little Things (125 words)
Published by APPLEBLOSSUM | Wednesday, April 30, 2014 10:23 PM
trigger #7 as if you were holding a river
For My Father
Published by LANNING | Tuesday, April 08, 2014 12:53 AM
April entry for the Year of the Horse contest. 251 words.
Year of the Horse Writing Contest for April : )
Published by BAMBOO BUCKAROO | Friday, February 28, 2014 4:50 PM
Lanai
Published by PIIHONUA | Saturday, March 22, 2014 11:02 AM
You can have aaaall da pineapples you like ... A poem inspired by the news Lanai has a new landlord 245 words - My trigger is: they were the wrong size
On the Day of the Birth
Published by LANNING | Saturday, March 01, 2014 2:00 AM
March entry, Year of the Horse contest. 894 words
The Great BR Year of the Horse Writing Contest
Published by BAMBOO BUCKAROO | Tuesday, February 04, 2014 1:10 AM
January Winners in The Great BR Year of the Snake Writing Contest : )
Published by BAMBOO BUCKAROO | Tuesday, February 04, 2014 12:44 AM
A Gathering of Friends
Published by CHRISKK | Tuesday, January 21, 2014 8:55 PM
He explained that recently two of his best friends had died. He realized that not only had he lost them but he had lost parts of himself, experiences and corresponding memories that could never be shared again. He described the loss of others as pieces of ourselves falling away, never to be retrieved or replaced. As I said, he was eloquent in responding to a pop quiz after much eating and drinking. (774)
The place where your horses run free
Published by CRAYOLAKOALA | Monday, January 27, 2014 9:23 AM
A Chinese New Year Story about a Filipino American family written in haibun. 281 words.
What he wasn't looking for.
Published by BETWEENWATERSUNSEEN | Tuesday, January 07, 2014 11:23 PM
352 words.
Haiku
Published by PIIHONUA | Tuesday, January 07, 2014 7:43 AM
Getting laid off again in 11 words